Our Connections

Te Awahou – Nieuwe Stroom

Te Awahou - Nieuwe Stroom

Te Awahou - Nieuwe Stroom Trust (TANS) is supported by Horowhenua District Council, based in Levin, about 90 minutes north of Wellington. The Council aims to turn Foxton into the tourism centre for the region.

TANS was specifically set up to manage the establishment of a multi-purpose facility that will accommodate a number of initiatives:

  • The Dutch Connection
  • Te Taitoa Maori o te Awahou - Arts and Craft Gallery
  • Whare Manaaki - Carving hall
  • New local Library (Horowhenua District Council)
  • I-Site for tourists (Horowhenua District Council)
  • 'Save Our River Trust' - Info Kiosk about wetlands, walkways
  • Flax Stripper Museum

The parties mentioned above, or Settlors, have joined forces in an Electoral College that selectsd the Trust members of Te Awahou - Nieuwe Stroom.

Members include: Ben Vanderkolk (Chair), Katrina  Barber, David Clapperton, Maurits Kelderman, Jeremy  Manks, Charlie Pedersen, Piri-Hira Tukapua and Arjan Van der Boon. Each of these members is entrusted with specific task portfolios.

Check out the organisation's Trust Deed by clicking here. Check out the TANS Business Plan by clicking here.

Right now, TANS is focused on project management and fundraising for the project. The $1.8 million for the Library is virtually secured. We're working hard on attracting more finances. If you wish to contribute - financially, or with suggestions - contact Colette Bennie at coletteb@horowhenua.govt.nz.